Navratri – 2020 1st Day: Maa Shailputri Puja

Spread the love

Shailputri is the first among the 9 forms of Goddess Durga who are worshiped throughout the 9 days of the Navratri festival. Each day of this festival is dedicated to the one form of Durga and first day is dedicated to Maa Shailputri.

Shailaputri is a Sanskrit name, and it means – the daughter of the mountain (Shaila = Mountain, Putri = Daughter). As the legend goes, Maa Durga had taken birth in the home of the King of the Himalayas. Hence, this incarnation of hers got the name Shailputri. The name of the King of the Himalayas was Hemavana. She also got the name Hemavati.

Today’s color – Yellow


ॐ देवी शैलपुत्र्यै नमः॥

वन्दे वाञ्छितलाभाय चन्द्रार्धकृतशेखराम्।
वृषारुढां शूलधरां शैलपुत्रीं यशस्विनीम्॥

Stuti: या देवी सर्वभू‍तेषु माँ शैलपुत्री रूपेण संस्थिता। नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नम:॥